Album, Single and EP Reviews



  Lost Paradise by Real Be Easys

Lost Paradise cover art

Artist: Real Be Easys
Title: Lost Paradise
Catalogue Number: No catalogue number
Review Format: CD
Release Year: 2006

This is a band that clearly likes their music loud, funky and a bit wild.  They attack it with an enthusiasm and energy that gives a raw and jagged edge to the sound.  Sort of like the Red Hot Chili Peppers before they discovered stadiums!


The opening track "Defunkt" perfectly sets the tone for what follows as rock and funk collide like a couple of shifting tectonic plates. They quickly build on this superb start with the equally energetic "Maniac"; and in "Ipso Facto" they have a song with both a highly catchy beat and chorus - genuine hit material in other words.  The more sedate and 'unplugged' "Jam On" is also worth a listen as they show a gentler side, and "On The Road" also merits your attention if you want to fully appreciate the band's sound.


The music certainly has its share of searing guitar breaks and riffs supplied by front man Evan Jaffee, and he is given the solid platform on which to express himself courtesy of Paul Testagrossa on bass and Zachary Thomas on drums.  Smooth sounding is not a description that we would apply to the Real Be Easys, and hopefully we'll never have to.
Review Date: June 21 2007